SPIRULINA HUMMUS

Snacks

Despite the fact that today is Mother’s Day, some people also celebrate International Hummus Day on May 13. What does it mean? 24 hours of eating hummus for breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert! Just kidding of course. But if you are planning to celebrate it this way, so let me share with you one very special hummus recipe to avoid boring celebration. Especially, being a faithful food lover, I could be among those people today.

It doesn’t mean that my mom is less important to me than a hummus. No way! I can write poems to my mom, telling how great she is and how much I love her. That is why after cooking the hummus and sharing the recipe with you, I am going to grab a box with freshly cooked hummus and run straight away to her to tell how much I love her.

e60da2b8-1a75-4b17-9226-134d6ded0344-2

Hummus is traditionally made from cooked mashed chickpeas, garlic, tahini, lemon juice and olive oil. I am using these main ingredients in the recipe, but adding some few more to make it more interesting and nutritious as usually.

To be honest spirulina is not among my usually used ingredients. I am not a big fan of it since I am rather into down-to-earth products, which are more practical and useful in most of the dishes. The taste of spirulina is so specific that it doesn’t fit in any dish and I was looking for different ways to use it. Finally, I found it!

a85b79ba-4663-4b8e-82e9-b689e1242f41

Why spirulina is so popular though?

Spirulina is considered as superfood showing powerful benefits. It is rich with chlorophyll, protein, beta-carotene, and the beneficial fatty acid GLA. Spirulina also contains a pigment called phycocyanin, which has antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties and which, was shown to inhibit cancer-colony formation in some studies. The cell wall of spirulina is composed of mucopolysaccharides (MPs), which are complex sugars mixed with amino acids, simple sugars, and sometimes protein. MPs contain only completely digestible nutrients.

More about spirulina in the article “THERAPEUTIC USES OF SPIRULINA”.

COURSE: Lunch, Dinner, Snack

CUISINE: Plant-based, Vegan, Gluten-free, Raw

PREP TIME: 5 min

COOKING TIME: 10 min

SERVINGS: 4

CALORIES: 220 calories (carbs 25g, protein 10g, fats 10g)

ee6a26ea-2f7f-485a-93b1-545805932457


INGREDIENTS

Chickpeas (cooked) – 250 g

Chestnut flour – 30 g (optional, use another 30g of chickpeas instead)

Tahini – 2 tbsp

Olive oil – 1 tbsp

Lemon juice – 2 tbsp

Spirulina powder – 1 tbsp

Cumin – 1 tsp

Garlic, salt and pepper – to taste

! For more servings multiply the ingredients by the number of portions.


COOKING PROCESS

Blend all ingredients together in food processor and add some few tbsp of water if you find it too thick or your food processor find it to be. If you use canned chickpeas, you will not need extra water most probably. But if you feel you wish to make it more creamy, so use the water from the can. In case, you use vacuum packaged chickpeas, you will need some 100 ml of water, roughly.

f3d05930-af1a-4c00-bf08-fdb0eeec9496

Spirulina hummus is amazing in combination with flatbread and fresh veggies. I usually prefer to make my homemade wrap with hummus and fresh vegetables. Especially, I like to use those vivid products in wraps, because the result is astonishing with these summer colours.

I will share with you the recipe in my next blog post. Bear with me!

I wish I could tell to every mom how she is important in our society by sharing my hummus with each. But dear sons and daughters, it is your turn today to make your mothers happy. Maybe with hummus or maybe some other special way.

Have a good one!

4 thoughts on “SPIRULINA HUMMUS

  1. Pingback: GINGER BITE
  2. I just made this recipe and it is the most delicious hummus I’ve ever eaten and made. Thank you very much!

    Like

Leave a Reply